California (CA)

California Medical License Renewal, 2026

Biennial (2 years), both MD (MBC) and DO (OMBC) renewal through the Medical Board of California. Verified from the board's own pages, August 2026.

Founding Credential: $99/year for the first 100 paid members, Practice included while you are a member

Use CredentialDOMD to organize your saved licenses, renewal dates and CME alongside your professional documents.

The founding annual rate stays locked for life while membership remains active.

Create your account

Card required at checkout. No-hassle 100% money-back guarantee: a full refund of your most recent annual payment, at any time.

Get the California guide by email

This page as one email you can keep. Free, no account.

This form requests one guide. It does not create an account, start a membership or charge you. Membership signup is a separate step. Create your account

MD licenses expire on the last day of the month the license was originally issued, every two years; DO licenses renew on a biennial cycle through BreEZe.

Browse CME resources → Working locums? See the practice tools → Or renew at the CA board portal →
Quick Facts: California Medical License Renewal
Medical Board Medical Board of California
Renewal Cycle Biennial (2 years), both MD (MBC) and DO (OMBC)
CME Hours Required 50 hours
Renewal Fee MD active: $1,206 total ($1,151 base plus mandatory $25 Steven M. Thompson Physician Corps Loan Repayment fee plus $30 CURES fee). DO active: $455 (includes $25 per B&P Code 2436.5 and $30 CURES per B&P Code 208); DO inactive: $325 (includes the $25 fee, no CURES)
Processing Time MD: a renewal processing time is not specified in this guide. OMBC: renewal takes approximately 15 working days from receipt of form and fee; OMBC tells DOs to submit at least 30 days before expiration
Renewal Due Last day of your issuance month (MD)
Late fee MD: delinquent fee of 10 percent of the renewal fee if payment not received within 30 days after expiration; an additional penalty fee of 50 percent of the renewal fee if not renewed within 90 days after expiration

Email me this guide

Get this guide by email: the California portal link, the renewal fee and deadline, and the full checklist. Free.

This form requests one guide. It does not create an account, start a membership or charge you. Membership signup is a separate step. Create your account

i Deadlines, fees, and what happens if you are late

When it is due
MD: license expires at 11:59 p.m. on the last day of the month in which the license was originally issued, every two years (not birth month). Initial MD licenses issued on or after January 1, 2024 get a 26-month first cycle, then revert to 24 months. DO: biennial cycle renewed through BreEZe; the cited OMBC pages state the two-year period runs between the prior and current expiration dates but do not explicitly publish the anchor rule (issuance month vs other), so that detail is left unstated rather than guessed.
Fee
MD active: $1,206 total ($1,151 base plus mandatory $25 Steven M. Thompson Physician Corps Loan Repayment fee plus $30 CURES fee). DO active: $455 (includes $25 per B&P Code 2436.5 and $30 CURES per B&P Code 208); DO inactive: $325 (includes the $25 fee, no CURES)
Late fee
MD: delinquent fee of 10 percent of the renewal fee if payment not received within 30 days after expiration; an additional penalty fee of 50 percent of the renewal fee if not renewed within 90 days after expiration (both on top of the renewal fee). DO: flat $100 delinquency fee (active) or $75 (inactive) if renewal is postmarked after the expiration date
If you miss the deadline
No grace period (MBC states this explicitly). It is illegal to practice medicine with an expired license; status shows "Delinquent" on the board lookup the day after expiration. MD: +10% delinquent fee after 30 days, +50% penalty fee after 90 days; after 5 years in delinquent status the license is automatically canceled and the physician must reapply for a new license. DO: license delinquent for over five years is cancelled and requires reapplying; a cancelled license cannot use the renewal form. BreEZe allows online renewal while the license expired less than five years ago.
Processing time
MD: a renewal processing time is not specified in this guide. OMBC: renewal takes approximately 15 working days from receipt of form and fee; OMBC tells DOs to submit at least 30 days before expiration
MD vs DO
This state runs separate MD and DO requirements. MD: 50 hours per 2-year cycle, including at least 50 Category 1, 12 hours pain management, required topics: Geriatric Medicine, Implicit Bias. DO: 50 hours per 2-year cycle, including at least 20 Category 1, 12 hours pain management, 1 hour substance use disorders, required topics: Implicit Bias.

1 Step-by-Step: Renewing Your California Medical License

Follow these steps to renew your medical license with the Medical Board of California:

  1. Complete your CME for the cycle (50 hours) (see details below)
  2. Log in to the Medical Board of California renewal portal
  3. Complete the renewal application and answer the attestation questions
  4. Pay the renewal fee (MD: $1,206 total)
  5. Submit and save your confirmation

2 California CME Requirements

MD: 50 hours per 2-year cycle, including at least 50 Category 1, 12 hours pain management, required topics: Geriatric Medicine, Implicit Bias.

DO: 50 hours per 2-year cycle, including at least 20 Category 1, 12 hours pain management, 1 hour substance use disorders, required topics: Implicit Bias.

CredentialDOMD organizes your saved CME and shows progress against the rules on file. Review the dates and source links for your license, then confirm unclear requirements with your board.

3 Common Pitfalls to Avoid

These are the mistakes California physicians most commonly make during renewal:

Track your California license, CME, and DEA in one place

Use CredentialDOMD to organize your saved licenses, renewal dates and CME alongside your professional documents. Review your records and confirm requirements with the licensing board.

Create your account

CredentialDOMD is an early release. Some workflows are less polished, and the app will continue to evolve. Your offer is confirmed before payment. Your account opens when payment completes, with our 100% money back guarantee.

Founding members help shape what comes next. In the app, ask VERA for help and use support tickets to report problems or suggest improvements.

Early release · Card required at checkout

4 Frequently Asked Questions

Where do I actually renew? ▾
Both boards renew online through the DCA BreEZe portal at https://www.breeze.ca.gov/ (login page: /datamart/loginCADCA.do). BreEZe lets you renew once your license is within 180 days of expiration, or if it expired less than five years ago. OMBC also accepts a downloadable paper renewal form mailed with a check to 1300 National Drive, Suite 150, Sacramento, CA 95834.
When will I be notified that renewal is due? ▾
MBC sends email notifications starting 180 days before your expiration date directing you to renew online. Do not wait for a paper reminder.
What do I have to attest to during an MD renewal? ▾
The BreEZe renewal includes the mandatory Physician Survey, a Financial Interest Statement, disciplinary action and conviction disclosure, and CME certification (50 hours per 2-year cycle per the board's CME rule).
What happens if I miss my expiration date? ▾
MD: your status flips to Delinquent immediately; within 30 days you owe a 10 percent delinquent fee, and past 90 days an additional 50 percent penalty fee, on top of the $1,206 renewal. DO: add a $100 delinquency fee ($75 inactive) if postmarked after expiration. After five years delinquent the license is canceled and you must apply for a new license.
Are there reduced-fee renewal categories? ▾
MD: physicians in qualifying military or voluntary service are exempt from the $1,151 base fee but still pay the $25 Thompson and $30 CURES fees; retired or disabled status pays only the $25 Thompson fee. DO: inactive status renews at $325 with no CME requirement, but restoring to active requires 20 hours of AOA Category 1A CME in the preceding 12 months.
What is included in the renewal fee besides the license? ▾
MD $1,206 includes a mandatory $25 Steven M. Thompson Physician Corps Loan Repayment Program fee and a $30 CURES fee (the CURES assessment is $15 per year, billed biennially, for prescribers). DO $455 similarly includes the $25 B&P 2436.5 fee and $30 CURES.

✓ Where this comes from

Double-checked against a second official source, August 2026. These are the primary sources we read:

Boards change fees and rules; always confirm on the board page before you pay. Report anything out of date to support@credentialdomd.com.

Take this guide with you

Get this guide by email: the California portal link, the renewal fee and deadline, and the full checklist. Free.

This form requests one guide. It does not create an account, start a membership or charge you. Membership signup is a separate step. Create your account